BK21 교육연구단(팀)

고신뢰성 에너지용 지능형 시스템반도체 교육연구단

해외석학 초청세미나 안내_22.8.16.(화) Columbia University, 석민구 교수님
작성자 지능형반도체
조회수 69
  • 첨부파일없음

BK 지능형반도체 교육연구단에서 아래와 같이 해외석학 초청세미나를 개최하고자 합니다.

디지털 집적회로, 인공지능 회로설계, PIM, IMC 등에 관심있는 학생/연구원 분들의 많은 참석을 부탁드립니다. 

오랜만에 대면으로 해외석학을 모시는 자리이니만큼, 직접 강연을 듣고 질의응답을 통해 소통할 수 있는 기회를 만들면 좋을 것 같습니다.

     - 주       제 :  SRAM-based In-Memory Computing Hardware for Energy-Efficient AI: Analog and Digital Approaches

     - 연       사 : 석민구 교수님, Columbia University

     - 일       시 : 2022년 8월 16일(화) 오전 11시

     - 장       소 : 제1공학관 305호 / 온라인 동시진행(ZOOM)  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84025015946?pwd=djEwQTVRUmgxRVBZQXRCQ2thSm5Zdz09

     - 문의사항 : 전자공학부 추민성 교수 (mschoo@hanyang.ac.kr)

Title : SRAM-based In-Memory Computing Hardware for Energy-Efficient AI: Analog and Digital Approaches

Abstract : In the last decade, SRAM-based in-memory computing (IMC) hardware has received significant research attention for its massive energy efficiency and performance boost. This seminar will introduce two recent hardware prototypes, MBIMC (CICC’22) and DIMC (ISSCC’22). MBIMC adopted analog-mixed-signal (AMC) computing mechanisms (capacitive coupling and charge sharing), achieving 177 TOPS/W for 4-bit weight and 4-b activation deep convolution neural networks (DCNN). On the other hand, DIMC adopted a fully digital approach, achieving 248 TOPS/W for 1-bit weight and 4-b activation DCNNs. After introducing each prototype in detail, we will discuss the pros and cons of analog and digital approaches to creating SRAM-based IMC hardware.

Bio : Mingoo Seok is an associate professor of Electrical Engineering at Columbia University. He received his B.S. from Seoul National University, South Korea, in 2005, and his M.S. and Ph.D. degree from the University of Michigan in 2007 and 2011, respectively, all in electrical engineering. His research interests are various aspects of VLSI circuits and architecture, including ultra-low-power integrated systems, cognitive and machine-learning computing, an adaptive technique for the process, voltage, temperature variations, transistor wear-out, integrated power management circuits, event-driven controls, and hybrid continuous and discrete computing. He won the 2015 NSF CAREER award and the 2019 Qualcomm Faculty Award. He is the technical program committee member for multiple conferences, including IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC). In addition, he has been an associate editor for IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems Part I (TCAS-I) (2014-2016), IEEE Transactions on VLSI Systems (TVLSI) (2015-present), IEEE Solid-State Circuits Letter (SSCL) (2017-present), and as a guest associate editor for IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits (JSSC) (2019).